She Walks In Beauty

Sharing this poem written by George Gordon Byron that I immensely like. It would be great to hear of your thoughts as they occur to you while reading this. I feel that it is quite interesting an idea to have an inkling of the different ways in which we all tend to read and respond to a work of art specially when it is as monumental, imaginative and provocative as this. Please do share what you feel. Thanks🙂
————
She walks in beauty, like the night
   Of cloudless climes and starry skies;
And all that’s best of dark and bright
   Meet in her aspect and her eyes;
Thus mellowed to that tender light
   Which heaven to gaudy day denies.
One shade the more, one ray the less,
   Had half impaired the nameless grace
Which waves in every raven tress,
   Or softly lightens o’er her face;
Where thoughts serenely sweet express,
   How pure, how dear their dwelling-place.
And on that cheek, and o’er that brow,
   So soft, so calm, yet eloquent,
The smiles that win, the tints that glow,
   But tell of days in goodness spent,
A mind at peace with all below,
   A heart whose love is innocent!

36 thoughts on “She Walks In Beauty

  1. sometimes its very difficult for me to interepret something like a poem I seldom read them.. .. But still what I feel after reading this is in the poem itself…! : )
    “So soft, so calm, yet eloquent,”

    1. That is quite interesting an observation Ela. One generally tends to read She Walks In Beauty as some sort of a ‘shringar ras’ (I hope you know what I mean here :P) poem. Your comment makes me think quite otherwise! Thanks for the visit and the comment! Hope to hear more from you!

  2. It is a very beautiful poem written in a simple and lucid language. Byron has sought to emphasise the simplicity, perfectness and mysteriousness of beauty by using light, darkness, stars and the sky. Beauty is light, but beauty is also deep and dark. Thanks for sharing.

  3. And as she moves with elegant steps,
    with a freshness of breath in air,
    fragrance pervading the way,
    on which she walks with her graceful sway….

    an sculpturesque she is ,
    with the stars above ..
    craving to be in
    her jewels … bedecking her skin….

    Hidden is her face,
    she never revealed,
    for theres a pearl sliding down.
    along the carnation’s mound,
    for it had experienced the feel …
    and carries
    the touch of her lover’s seal….

    The poem is an unique one,the more you read ,the different and larger picture you imagine. The depth and the simplicity is awesome and striking.

  4. The eyes are the window of the soul, he tries yet cannot fully express to the reader the fullness of his heart. Even the comparisons to nature’s glories fall short of what he feels when reflecting on the beauty revealed to him…

  5. OK. I admit it . I have taken one too many philosophy/religion classes.
    “….One shade the more, one ray the less…”
    The shade of the material body, hides the soul and
    “….half impairs the nameless grace….”.

  6. let me first admire your skill of finding an appropriate image for the poetry. Picture is worth thousand words & you always justify the poem/prose with a powerful image.
    and now if I may take some liberty in asking this …
    “Why would you pick an image of a beauty with a back facing?:
    …….
    I mean why a beauty walking away from you … (Nawab or Nawabi thath was not in my mind for sure😉 )

  7. I came across this poem long time back, maybe when I was in the 7th or my 8th std. I liked this poem then, I like this one now, but if you happen to ask me to recite it by-heart, I won’t be able to do it. However, one single line which I can never forget is this one: “Meet in her aspect and her eyes”.

  8. After checking out a number of the articles on your website, I seriously appreciate your technique of blogging. I saved as a favorite it to my bookmark website list and will be checking back soon. Take a look at my website too and tell me how you feel.

  9. Thank you for reminding me of this beautiful poem I found many years ago in a book (do not remember the name…). This poem is perfect: it is written by a mature man who sees the Beauty of a woman he loved once through his feelings: so His feelings for her are the tool by which he can see her beauty, a beauty of the Soul. Only through Love you can see the real Beauty, and this beauty is universal and embraces the world, the stars…the All.This is my interpretation…sorry if it’s not clear…. Thank you for sharing.

Leave a Reply

