Skip to content

Threads

October 18, 2011

I am tied to so many people and so many things. These ties seldom break. I consider a thread to have broken only when I can say that I have forgotten about a particular connection.

These linkages pull me in all possible directions. When one pulls hard, the others coöperate and aid it so loyally. Take for instance the moment when I am happy. I am just so happy that the threads pulling me to an ocean of despair just loosen and it seems to me as if they have disappeared. The universe seems bright and the corners of my room get filled up with beautiful fragrances. The objects which act as the source of all worry and confusion let their threads loose and I wander free. In case of such a relaxation, I forget the other side of my story. When I roam around in the open grassland, the other connections of my being matter to me no more. Like an animal tethered to a variety of poles dug deep in the ground, I graze. When I am glad, some of the ropes take rest and the envious poles laugh incessantly at my illusions. “Go wherever you want, I will pull you soon” they say to themselves.

Very soon a wave of anxiety strikes. The hitherto silent people and objects tighten and stand straight. The aesthetic of the expressions on their faces worsens and they set out to teach me a lesson for my offence of forgetting them. I try hard to graze further and yet get pulled back to where I belong. Belonging in this sense is a temporary and an extremely momentary feeling. I belong to the territory carved out by a team of mood controllers and I am forced to be loyal every time.

And I miss the opportunity always. Every time I fail to look down upon the other team. When sad, I am just sad and when happy, I am just happy. While being so, I have never been able to laugh at the others and made them realize the weakness of the momentary influences they are capable of forcing on me. I do not emerge victorious ever. I emerge out of my mood a loser who could not teach his opponents a lesson. Grief wins every time I forget myself and smile and sing with the sunshine. It laughs at my foolishness. Happiness wins every time I shed a drop of tear and curse the dark. It too laughs at my foolishness.A child I am in all circumstances.

Taken with gratitude from csuri.com

To be sad and to love being as such is the real triumph and vice-versa. Is that so? I cannot say that. I think I can defeat my opponents in only one circumstance. And that is to surrender with all my heart and soul to whatever joys and miseries they have in store for me. I cannot go very far trying to stand up to their might. The threads are many. Not all of them are silky. There are the others which have a sharp cutting surface. Some are steely and there are still others which are irritable to touch because they have a coating of broken, grounded pieces of glass.

Pull me and take me wherever you want. Do whatever you want. I will like a loyal slave comply with your directions. I refuse to learn from my mistakes and will continue doing so. When delighted I will forgo all grief and when depressed, I will never think of the happy moments of my life. I am happy to see you victorious once and forever. I need to have a great laugh now at you. Don’t mind it. My life! you are supremely and most annoyingly mighty. I surrender!

11 Comments leave one →
  1. October 19, 2011 5:55 am

    I love your thoughts on being pulled as if a thread, and riding it out for whatever it brings. Nice blog you have here!

  2. October 19, 2011 11:09 am

    Liked the post very very much! Keep writing!
    -Hitendra

  3. sampu permalink
    October 19, 2011 12:03 pm

    wonderful!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!thanks for d post SIR

  4. October 19, 2011 1:51 pm

    very nice thoughts……

  5. October 19, 2011 4:21 pm

    This is very nice. Now I’m looking at a bottle of lotion and wonder if I can make something out of it – a story as beautiful as you did with threads.

  6. October 19, 2011 8:21 pm

    Very thought provoking, I really enjoyed it. Thanks for sharing.

  7. October 20, 2011 10:53 am

    So full of insight on the fabric of life with threads, I learned a new way to view things. Thank you!
    Caine

  8. Pranav Singh permalink
    October 20, 2011 12:22 pm

    I guess that’s the price to pay for unconditional loyalty, forced as it may be – to see them triumphing every time, even if at your own cost.
    A lovely view of our moods and a true picture of our inability to see the other side every time whether happy or sad. Let’s see if I remember this the next time I suffer from either extreme :)

  9. rose permalink
    October 20, 2011 5:21 pm

    truly amazing and very intense….anyone can feel it deeply and connect their life mysteries with this. Thanx my dear friend

  10. June 8, 2012 10:57 pm

    “to surrender with all my heart and soul to whatever joys and miseries they have in store for me.” – but that is hard to do… ;)

Leave a Reply

princessblog24

All About What I Think!!

lalitasaini

Musings of a Home-maker

Prasun Dutta

Photography Blog of Prasun Dutta

A Journey Called Life ...

“Never forget that once upon a time, in an unguarded moment, you recognized yourself as a friend.” - E. Gilbert

INDIA UPDATE

Many physicists today postulate the existence of multiple universes, even when sober. We used to live in a world of infinite possibilities. Now we live in an infinite number of worlds. India shines. Democracy thrives. The economy booms. A hundred flyovers bloom. This is not that India. If you see your picture here one day, don’t worry. That’s not you.

Mystery Cloud

The owner of this blog is a a descendant of the tank cat from battle cats.

Offence: The Hindu Case

Salil Tripathi's book on free speech

Deepika_Bisht

अक़्स-ए-ख़ुशबू हूँ, बिखरने से न रोके कोई.. और बिखर जाऊँ तो, मुझ को न समेटे कोई.......!

FILMS | FOOD | POETRY

Movie Reviews, Poems, Lyrics, Food Photography & Recipes

Uraiyaadal | உரையாடல்

On Tamil and language learning in general

queerduckeye

coloring crazy algorithms

Bricoleurs

The Research Scholars' Group Sociology DSE

John SterVens' Tales

Thee Life, Thee Heart, Thee Tears

My Dreams

Coming soon to a blogroll near you

Mahabore's Mumblings

Life and its oddities, some funny and some not so funny right here!!!

Shetall says

Trust me, I write only for you :)

Blog It or Lose It!

Keeping my brain from turning into oatmeal...

Cori200398

thoughts.beauty.fashion.travel.

What's the point?

Just another WordPress.com weblog

grandfathersky

Thoughts and feelings made into words about the world and times in which we live ...

Salil Lawande

Text | Photos | Doodles

Red Walls and Easels - A brush with life

The calls to canvas, the words that came, the experiments, expressions, wanderings and meanderings of Jenny Reyneke artist.

Nicholas Conley's Writings, Readings and Coffee Addictions

A blog from the author of The Cage Legacy

Miss Interpreting

Freelance journalist Monica Sarkar on inspiring, alternative news & views

Ninagrandiose's Blog

A World of Difference Explored

ankitmamc's Blog

A topnotch WordPress.com site

Chennai with a 50mm View

Missing Chennai?

stories and paintings

new home for ethereal heights

The Girl With The Scorpion Tattoo

Just when the caterpillar thought the world was over, she became a Butterfly!

The Hare Krishna Revolution

Putting Krishna in the Center

Hajarduari

walking through a thousand doors

35andupcynicismonhold

still holding my breath

उलझे शब्द

भावनाओं का जामा

panaecea

A Series Of Soul Bytes Just For You

Realiction

where reality and fiction collide

universalpoetries

Not just a poetry website.

Ajay Ben Photography

Photography Portfolio of Ajay Benjamin

PIECES

Exposing Emotions

Matt on Not-WordPress

Stuff and things.

Murtaza Unplugged

Just another WordPress.com site

Readers Heaven

For People Who Love to Read and Make the Most of It

Read Tom Lucas

Creative Writing - Poetry - Short Pieces - News - By Tom Lucas

Crazy Life...

Always Expect d uNeXpEcTEd!!! ~ Everything happens for d good of SOmEoNE (it cud be u!!! )

Thought Graffiti

A personal blog!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,270 other followers

