Three Love Stories

She had looked at his picture on the i-pad forever. In the snap he was bungee jumping. Curiously she asked “I love asking this to you every time we meet. I will always want to ask you this. Please tell me what attracted you to me? What did you notice in me?” She smiled and said “Did I do something that turned you on?”.She almost blushed finishing her question. Sipping the hot cuppa at the Coffee counter, he said “Well I can’t somehow recall exactly. Let me think. I remember seeing you at the multiplex. You got the tickets and sat waiting for the show to start. Oh yeah…I think it was the bright pink elastic strap of your underwear peeping out of the fabulous pair of jeans you wore. I kept staring and decided to talk to you…Yeah that is how it began, I think.”

This other one sat near the street tea stall and ordered for bun butter. The day had been a busy one. The rally had been a huge success. Wiping the sweat off her face she said “I truly love you. I do not care for anything that makes being your companion difficult. I am ready to hold your hand and walk with you through all the highs and lows. We will do our best to bring about a change in the world. I am so interested in knowing how all this began for us. What made you talk to me in the first place? Do you even remember the first time we met?” Managing the red sling bag he said “Oh I do remember all that. You had not eaten anything for those three whole days and you had fainted. It was me who lifted you and someone arranged for a rickshaw. The Doctor was called soon thereafter. You smelled of jasmine. I think it was the hair oil. Moreover your views on patriarchy were so engaging. That was it.”

The boy had finished eating the fried rice she had cooked and brought for him in the red plastic lunch box. She wanted to have a plate of Maggi. On the way she looked at him with roses blooming in her eyes. “It has been lovely knowing you. These seven days have been the best of my life. I never thought about myself as someone you would ever talk to. Tell me what made you take the first step. It was so funny when you came to me and began fumbling for words. My friends make fun of you. The tie you wore that day was strange”. He cared not to look at her and walked robustly. She repeated her question. “I don’t like talking about all this. I don’t even remember. Are all these things worth for being remembered? Something must have happened. And had it not happened with you it would have happened with someone else. Big deal!”

 

 

 

14 thoughts on “Three Love Stories

Leave a Reply

