Mention a Song

imagesDear Reader,

Of late I have been in a ‘explore music’ mode. Please leave the link/title/audio of a song that you like/that immediately comes to your mind in the comment box as I so want to listen to and appreciate what others like and are listening to. A link or a mere mention of the song should suffice. However, a brief introduction to the specific charm of the song for you, if added to the comment, would make it all the more interesting for me. Would appreciate if it is just one song. Language, mood, country, genre, instruments no bar at all! I do wish to write a post on the songs that I receive from you. Thanks in advance for paying attention!

Hoping to ‘listen’ from you! 

 

31 thoughts on “Mention a Song

  1. Undoubtedly, selecting one song is a tough call.
    I used to pre-select a song and keep the record ready in-playing mode, when I would be in last phase of getting ready to move out of the home to go to office (during 1973 to 1979). Each day would a one song that would expectedly take my spirits to the 7th heaven, just as I step out of the home. This in turn used to provide a energy boost for power-planning the day’s activity during the travel-time in the bus.
    Here is one such song:
    Masti Men Chhed Ke Tarana Koi Dilka, Aaj Lootayega Khajana Koi Dil Ka – Kaifi Azmi, Madan Mohan, Mohammad Rafi – Haqueequat – http://youtu.be/BodcrM8hvPs
    the song has tremendous feeling of care-free moments ahead.

  2. definitely chosing one song is definitely a tough call, since there are 10000 songs for every mood of yours, still Ill try to stick to mentioning one song..
    “coming back to life” by pink floyd always takes me back to the memory lanes , the words echo my thoughts.
    Recently I heard Khumaar by papon in coke studio and iv heard it 100000 times on loop. his voice is a treat for your ears, and the song is a feast for your soul. do listen

  3. I’ll mark my age with a classic song from France: one of my favorites as I continue to age:

    Edith Piaf – Non, je ne regrette rien – (listen to her in an ORIGINAL recording)

    youtube says:

    ‘Piaf dedicated her recording of the song to the French Foreign Legion. At the time of the recording, France was engaged in a military conflict, the Algerian War (1954–1962), and the 1st REP (1st Foreign Parachute Regiment) — which backed a temporary putsch of 1961 by the French military against the civilian leadership of Algeria — adopted the song when their resistance was broken. The leadership of the Regiment was arrested and tried but the non-commissioned officers. Corporals and Legionnaires were assigned to other Foreign Legion formations. They left the barracks singing the song, which has now become part of the French Foreign Legion heritage and is sung when they are on parade.’

    Even if dedicated to the french Foreign Legion this song means much in living a life of no regrets.
    If you want to, I’ll translate the lyrics into English for you. ( please do not trust the automatic online translations ..!!! ..)

    Regards, Vera

  4. Kwaja mere khwaja …. This mesmerizing sufi song inspired by Moinuddin Chishti (Persian: چشتی‎,Urdu: چشتی‎ – Čištī) (Arabic: ششتى‎ – Shishti) was born in 1141 and died in 1236 CE. Also known as Gharīb Nawāz “Benefactor of the Poor”

    Enjoy you may easily go in to a trance :)

  5. That’s much , much too difficult. Can only tell you what I was listening to a little while ago. “Gham aur khushi ke farqna mehsoos ho jahaan..me dil ko us makkaam pe laata chala gaya..har fiqr ko duen me udaata chala gaya. me zindagi ke saath nibaata chala gaya”. I love this song for the philosophy it espouses.

  6. Let me give three suggestions! 1. The Blue Danube, conducted by Karajan. 2. Anup Jalota singing: Chadaria, jheeni re jheeni. 3. Na, jiya lage na from Anand. Enjoy.

    • Awesome suggestions. Will have to listen to the first one. Haven’t ever. Kabir is always a treat. And what to say about the third gem. Salil Chaudhury’s classic. Jeena Bhoole The Kahan Yaad Nahin, Tujhko Paaya Hai Jahan Saans Fir Aayee Wahin…Zindagi tere siwa haaye bhaaye na! Wow! thanks a tonne for making my day!

Leave a Reply

