Skip to content

All I Need

August 1, 2013

MonsoonIn the dark of this broken street let me say to you. Let me say to you that at the end of the street would face us a deserted mansion. In case you were willing to walk along that far, we sure could unlock that rusty iron gate and clear the cobwebs. While you would light a lamp I could make some fire, brew some tea and we could talk some politics. While you would play with the burnt wick, I would stitch together some old poetic thoughts into one. You would be entertained I guess if offered to gaze at the overcast monsoon sky while braving the humidity and the cricket’s noise.

A monsoon evening leading to a rainy night is no plain an evening. It is the precursor to a lot of dreams, a pile of self-pity and a bunch of romance all entangled into one. I am sure you won’t mind helping me straightening some of that, sitting on the terrace. At midnight we would make some bed and talk about how huts are made with straws, of how ghazals are written and of how lovely do little baby frocks look in old black n white photographs.

At dawn we would snuggle, make some space for dew to settle down. In the embrace would I tell you how lovely things are on a rainy day that ends with an embrace the day after.  Are you coming?

35 Comments leave one →
  1. August 1, 2013 11:10 pm

    “A monsoon evening leading to a rainy night is no plain an evening”

    I love this line…

    • August 1, 2013 11:12 pm

      Thanks Arindam. Did not write anything for quite some time. Had to pen it somehow so as to get into the pace once again. Nice to hear from you. How have you been?

      • August 1, 2013 11:19 pm

        I have been fine… How about you? Yes, hadn’t ‘seen’ you for a long time… Anyways the restart was very good. I too penned down similar thoughts on monsoon this morning…

        • August 1, 2013 11:26 pm

          I have been fine as well. Thanks again for the appreciation! I would like to read your thing. Have you posted it already?

        • August 1, 2013 11:27 pm

          Yes…

  2. August 2, 2013 9:04 am

    So tantalizing an invitation!
    No way to refuse!
    The time with friends is never ever a plain meeting.. it is an alchemists’ touch…..
    The time spent with one’s own self is a shot of revatilizing energy boost…………..

    • August 2, 2013 10:29 am

      Thats so true. Well said Ashok Ji!

      I immensely enjoyed being a part of the carnival of Hindi Music that you had sort of ‘organised’ on your blog!

      Hope you are doing well!

      Regards!

      • August 2, 2013 9:43 pm

        When one has friends like you, All is Well.

  3. August 2, 2013 3:43 pm

    Nice scene.

    • August 30, 2013 8:14 am

      thanks Pete! How have you been?

      • August 30, 2013 12:59 pm

        Great thanks buddy, up and down is how things go right?

        • August 31, 2013 7:31 am

          yeah!

  4. August 3, 2013 3:32 am

    …she is coming, she is coming …

    • August 3, 2013 7:23 am

      I am glad she agreed to!
      :)

      Thanks for the visit!

  5. August 5, 2013 10:39 pm

    Lovely post :)
    Definitely goes into my favourite posts of yours..
    Wonderful line “While you would play with the burnt wick,…..” !

    • August 5, 2013 10:44 pm

      Thanks Vandhana!
      :)

  6. August 6, 2013 11:24 am

    what a beauty! loved it. I wish I could tag along but two is company three is crowd :)

    • August 6, 2013 1:11 pm

      You are most Welcome! Who knows if the person complaining abt being the third one weren’t you!

      I read ur comment on my phone on the way to the University and it brought a broad smile on my face!

      Thanks for stopping by!

      • August 7, 2013 2:22 pm

        :) thanks. I will certainly love to join. old mansions are my all time favorites- just love them!

  7. August 8, 2013 11:12 pm

    Your words make rainy days even more interesting!
    No matter how poetic your tempting words may sound, I’d leave that invite for a more deserving one. :)

    • August 30, 2013 8:15 am

      haha! What should I say to that Yatin!

      Cheers!

  8. August 11, 2013 4:53 pm

    Beautiful lines which capture the true spirit of the monsoon!
    Thanks.

    • August 30, 2013 8:15 am

      Thank You Dilip Ji!
      :)

  9. August 17, 2013 9:46 pm

    Yeah..I heard it’s been raining in Delhi. The rain does this, doesn’t it? :-)

    • August 30, 2013 8:16 am

      It does…it does! :)

  10. August 20, 2013 9:52 pm

    A wonderful post in which you create a tantalizing atmosphere. I can almost feel I am part of the monsoon.

    • August 30, 2013 8:17 am

      Do post a photograph inspired by this post. I would love to see it on your page!

      Waiting!

      • August 30, 2013 8:36 am

        I will have to see what I can do. :-)

  11. August 28, 2013 3:41 pm

    Hi, so beautifully written and it creates such a soulful set up which warms up the heart:)

    • August 30, 2013 8:17 am

      Thanks Vishal! Most welcome to the blog. Hope to hear from you more often!

      Cheers!

  12. November 25, 2013 11:03 am

    It is the precursor to a lot of dreams. I love this line.

    • November 26, 2013 6:54 pm

      thank u sumon!

  13. June 28, 2014 5:05 pm

    What an evening it will be! Hope you did have that evening :)

    • June 28, 2014 5:13 pm

      how i wish your wish to be true! Thanks for the visit Sameer!

      • June 29, 2014 3:01 pm

        My pleasure totally :)

Leave a Reply

The Blog of Author Tim Ferriss

Tim Ferriss's 4-Hour Workweek and Lifestyle Design Blog

hugmamma's MIND, BODY and SOUL

you are my sunshine...my only sunshine...you make me happy...when skies are gray...

Dashtnavard's Blog

Treks, Travels & Adventures...

The Wordy Nerdy Pedantic

A stairway to a world of thoughts

Operation Pakistan

We fight for Humanity, against Injustice, for Revolution.

Ashish Shakya

Writer. Stand-up comic. General idiot for hire.

La sua Principessa

Every silver lining has a dark cloud covering it...

A.D. Martin

writing - novels - film - television - video games - other stuff

Captain Ken's Cloud

Sharing content: writing, music, pictures, videos

Hotmail Password Recovery 1-844-798-4390

Hotmail Password Reset, Recover Hotmail Account, Hotmail Password Hacked, Hotmail Account Blocked, Forgot Hotmail Password, Hotmail Toll Free Number

Your Well Wisher Program

Attempt to solve commonly known problems…

Indie Hero

Brian Marggraf, Author of Dream Brother: A Novel, Independent publishing advocate, New York City dweller

Alone in USA

My life in California ...

LoudThoughtsVoicedOut

My mental voices written down..

yousra today

Welcome to my world !

AshleyNicole

An eclectic compilation of my thoughts

Dana Doran

Because Facebook is Lame

A Walk To Remember

Events of Journey

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

Saddi Delhi

Observations | Stories | Opinions

Nifti's Book

Musings of a mildly neurotic chic

The Monkey Bellhop

Original Comedy, Humorous Jokes

Chitra's Healthy Kitchen

Recipes for healthy living

Indian Dalit Muslims' Voice

- A voice against upper caste atrocities

Mucchiwala

Mucchi outlines your smile

Me and My Random Thoughts

This is me trying to walk in step with the world.

My One Precious Life

It may just be another life in the big old world, but it's mine.

lovehappinessandpeace

Let Us DO Something!

A Pondering Mind

with a mug of coffee

A Holistic Journey

Finding my way back out of motherhood -- while mothering

Indira's Blog

Poems, Haiku, Paintings & Photographs

jumiss

jumiss ebay

Kaligrafi Nusantara

Kami Berkarya dan Syiar Islam Melalui Kaligrafi

Minds and Brains

Musings from a Naturalist

YA BAKİ ENTEL BAKİ

"İlahi Ente Maksudi ve Rızake Matlubi"

Quickbandi.com

क्विकबंदी | کویکبندی | Tukbandi Central |

Kan Walk Will Travel

Eat. Live. Love. Laugh.

E K Dhilip Kumar

If you get bored with the usual contents you should come here to get a different view of life. Your life.

happiMess

Blah. Bleh. Meh.

Love, Life and Whatever

My Guide to Life and the Way to Live is to Love.

The Daily Bubble Tea

Now in Nantou County, Taiwan

It Rains... You Get Wet

Still more lazy thoughts from this one...

Traveldefined

A sliver of Motivation. A snippet of History. A slice of Adventure. And a big dollop of fun.

The Nomad Fashionista.

Traveler. Photography enthusiast. Foodie. DIY obsessed. Agony Aunt and Quirky Fashion loving Being.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,422 other followers

